darthzedd replied to your post: rachelunstoppable replied to your post: Pardon me…Anything with port white will still be protected. Protection is protection, regardless if spell or permanent.
You. Are. Wrong. Don’t spread misinformation (or if you do, then quickly…
Going from your original post you seem to be making the argument that a permanent with protection from white can be targeted by Oblivion Ring. I suppose that I was not specific enough with my reply. A permanent with protection from white cannot be targeted by a white spell or permanent, including oblivion ring. However, the creature Emrakul does not have protection from [color], but rather “protection from colored spells” making it an exception from the usual color protection rules by naming spells and eliminating other colored sources.
Under this same logic, Emrakul is not protected from “Seal of Fire,” which is a red enchantment that you sacrifice to deal 2 damage to something.
The guys at Wizards have been doing this kind of thing a lot in recent sets, having fun with card wording to stuff the rules in strange places. For more advanced players it results in these fun arguments about car interactions. For newer players, it often results in headaches and kitchen-table rulings. XD
Also, I’m incredibly amused by how boldy and italicized this guy’s anger was. Made me think of something….
Yes I did let that get out of hand, and yes I thought we were still talking about our favorite Eldrazi. Anyway, protection from colored spells =/= abilities. Yadda yadda. Also was thinking about using that picture, but a variant:
I wasn’t angry, sorry if I gave that air, but I was frustrated. I was frustrated because I was failing in explaining this somehow and I know that can be frustrating for my readers and I should be doing better. I’ll try harder from now on.
12 Notes/ Hide
- sirtoki likes this
- sarroth likes this
- notcain said: Actually it can PHILLUSIONARY. If Emrakul had “protection from all colors” a-la Voice of All, then it couldn’t be targeted. “Prot from colored spells” means that it can’t be targeted by instants, sorceries, and such. O-ring resolves then targets.
- phillusive said: O Ring can’t hit emrakul ever. If you have to point and choose, you’re targeting it.
- ghost-autonomy likes this
- hippocrates-socrates likes this
- mtgfan reblogged this from thederpside and added:
- thederpside reblogged this from mtgfan and added:
- sarroth said: I thought that meant something with Pro-White would have protection from White permanents (e.g., Oblivion Ring) and White spells (e.g., Faith’s Fetters). Maybe I was wrong though.
- meldorable said: Just one more nuance that should be obvious but wasn’t explicitly stated: things with protection from white are still protected from Oblivion Ring. It’s specifically Emrakul’s wording re: colored SPELLS that allows O-Ring to work.
- kyammi likes this
- mtgfan posted this