Reply - Infect and Regenerate
The infect keyword reads “this card deals damage as -1/-1 counters”… So could you regenerate infect damage to stop the counters being put on a creature?
119.3. Damage may have one or more of the following results, depending on whether the recipient of the damage is a player or permanent, the characteristics of the damage’s source, and the characteristics of the damage’s recipient (if it’s a permanent).
119.3d Damage dealt to a creature by a source with wither and/or infect causes that many -1/-1 counters to be put on that creature.
119.3e Damage dealt to a creature by a source with neither wither nor infect causes that much damage to be marked on that creature.
702.88c Damage dealt to a creature by a source with infect isn’t marked on that creature. Rather, it causes that many -1/-1 counters to be put on that creature. See rule 119.3.
In summary, damage is not marked by creatures with Infect or Wither. So this kind of damage can’t be removed (and thus, regenerated).
“… Being that we like making mechanics that create strong reactions as long as the positive outweighs the negative, poison seems like it has a very good chance of returning one day probably as infect.”
I just realized that Protean Hydra stops infect. Man, I’m pretty slow.
Two-Headed Giant Rules Change: Poison Counters
Effective April 1, the rules for poison counters in Two-Headed Giant games are changing. Players will no longer get poison counters individually. Rather, teams will get poison counters. In addition, a team loses the game when it has 15, not 10, poison counters. The Comprehensive Rules will be updated to reflect these changes.
Two-Headed Giant Poison Mini-FAQ
Q: Do these changes affect the way in which attackers are declared or combat damage is dealt in Two-Headed Giant?
A: No. Each team’s creatures, including those with infect, attack the other team as a group. Combat damage is still dealt to each player individually, although the result of that damage (from a source with infect) is the player’s team receiving an appropriate number of poison counters.
Q: If the opposing team has one or more poison counters and I proliferate, how may poison counters can I give them?
A: One. You choose the team as a whole to receive one more poison counter. This is a new exception to the normal proliferate procedure.
Q: If my team has one or more poison counters, will an opposing Septic Rats get its bonus?
A: Yes. Both players on a team are poisoned if that team has one or more poison counters.
Q: Do these changes affect any other formats or variants?
A: No. Two-Headed Giant is the only variant affected by this change.