Actually, no. “Can’t” beats out “can”, and if the rules try to counter something that can’t be countered, it won’t be countered. This can actually cause the game state to “hang”, with a spell on the stack that can’t leave.
This is not true.
“Can’t be countered by spells or abilities,” is not “can’t be countered by spells, abilities, or rules.”
…The spell or ability is countered if all its targets, for every instance of the word “target,” are now illegal. If the spell or ability is not countered, it will resolve normally. However, if any of its targets are illegal, the part of the spell or ability’s effect for which it is an illegal target can’t perform any actions on that target, make another object or player perform any actions on that target, or make that target perform any actions. The effect may still determine information about illegal targets, though, and other parts of the effect for which those targets are not illegal may still affect them.
A player’s graveyard is his or her discard pile. Any object that’s countered, discarded, destroyed, or sacrificed is put on top of its owner’s graveyard, as is any instant or sorcery spell that’s finished resolving. Each player’s graveyard starts out empty.
Any part of an instruction that’s impossible to perform is ignored. (In many cases the card will specify consequences for this; if it doesn’t, there’s no effect.)
Yes, what magpie said. In the two examples, Supreme Verdict doesn’t take a target, so it can simply not be countered. The other one does take a target, so it includes ‘by spells or abilities’ so that it can still be countered through fizzling.
Oh, that’s how it was meant? Okay, I misinterpreted the reply. After some research, yeah, targeted spells have the “or abilities” also put on, and non-targeting spells do not.
I think it’s so the spell can still be countered by the game state i.e. it can still fizzle
That’s a game rules that’s always in effect if a spell has no targets/no valid targets. Every spell/ability will get “countered on resolution” that way, regardless of “can’t be countered” text.
Why not just do Stuffy Doll burn with ramp and Blasphemous Act/Into the Maw of Hell and Reverberate?
Edit: He also had Forks.
Awesome, but doesnt works very well with with portuguese cards =/ (I’m from Brazil)
There’s a custom option if you have a favorite Portuguese site you want to use.
Just use a similar search string like that in your own, maybe?